BY ALDS. HAMILTON, DONOVAN, COGGS, JOHNSON, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, SPIKER, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, DODD

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Darrin "Superman" Jones.

WHEREAS,

DARRIN "SUPERMAN" JONES

passed from this life on February 1, 2020 and funeral services were held for family and friends on February 3, 2020, at New Testament Church of Milwaukee, 10201 W. Bradley Rd. on February 8, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Darrin "Superman" Jones joined the Milwaukee Fire Department on March 4, 1991 and dedicated 28 years to the department where he eventually became a veteran firefighter and was known as "Superman" among his fellow firefighters and members in the community; and

WHEREAS, Darrin Jones was an impactful first responder and received Fire Rescue meritorious unit awards while serving Engine 30 and Engine 10 due to his bravery in excessively dangerous environments and received an emergency medical services meritorious unit award during his service at Engine 9; and

WHEREAS, Darrin Jones was a genuine and enthusiastic friend and became well respected during his lengthy service as a member of the Milwaukee Fire Department, the Milwaukee Brotherhood of Firefighters, and Local 215; and

WHEREAS, Darrin Jones was well-known in his community as a dedicated friend and family man who cared deeply about service and committed his life to keeping residents of the City of Milwaukee safe, and leaves to cherish his memory beloved wife Pauline Grant-Jones, son Devin Jones, and stepchildren Kayla Grant-Dixon and Bradley Grant; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the family and friends of Darrin "Superman" Jones and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this upstanding woman; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Darrin "Superman" Jones.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Robert G. Donovan, Milele A. Coggs, Cavalier Johnson, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 11, 2020.