BY ALDS. DODD, HAMILTON, COGGS, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, DONOVAN, SPIKER, STAMPER, RAINEY, LEWIS, JOHNSON, MURPHY

Resolution congratulating Raymond E. Banks on his retirement from the Milwaukee Police Department.

WHEREAS.

RAYMOND E. BANKS

retired with pride and satisfaction as an assistant chief of police with the Milwaukee Police Department on January 24, 2020 after 28 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Raymond E. Banks joined the Milwaukee Police Department in 1991 after serving as a State Trooper for the Wisconsin State Patrol from 1990-1991; and

WHEREAS, Raymond E. Banks graduated Summa Cum Laude from Upper Iowa University with a Bachelor's Degree in Criminal Justice, holds a Master's Degree in Organizational Leadership and Administration from Concordia University-Mequon, and is a graduate of the Leadership in Policing Organizations; and

WHEREAS, After joining the MPD, Raymond E. Banks achieved the ranks of Sergeant, Lieutenant and Captain before being promoted to his final rank and position as an assistant chief of police in April 2018, having worked at District Seven, North Investigations Division and the Investigative Management Division; and

WHEREAS, In his final role with the Milwaukee Police Department, Raymond E. Banks served as the assistant chief of the department's Administration Bureau, and prior to serving in that capacity, he was the commander of the department's Office of Community Outreach and Education (OCOE); now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Raymond E. Banks on his retirement from the Milwaukee Police Department, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community and wishes for him a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Raymond E. Banks, an outstanding employee.

Introduced by Common Council members Nikiya Dodd, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Robert G. Donovan, Scott Spiker, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson, Russell W. Stamper, II and Michael J. Murphy and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on January 21, 2020.