ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, SPIKER, BORKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY. JOHNSON. DODD

Resolution congratulating and commending the Milwaukee Excellence Middle School Girls Basketball Team on its title in the 2019 Milwaukee Recreation Citywide Middle School Girls Basketball Tournament.

WHEREAS,

MILWAUKEE EXCELLENCE CHARTER SCHOOL GIRLS BASKETBALL TEAM

won the 2019 Milwaukee Recreation Citywide Middle School Girls Basketball Tournament on November 23, 2019; and

WHEREAS, The 2019-20 Milwaukee Excellence Middle School Girls Basketball Team, composed of players who dedicated themselves to hard work, teamwork, and excellence, were able to bring out the best in themselves and each other while putting together a tournament run that most schools only dream about; and

WHEREAS, In its inaugural year of participation in the Milwaukee Recreation Citywide Middle School Girls Basketball Tournament, Milwaukee Excellence ended with a 40-27 win against Lincoln Center of the Arts at Obama High School to claim their title in the Tournament Championship with a 12-1 record; and

WHEREAS, The Phoenix included eighth graders Mearah Cornelius, Aniyah McNeil, Chaise Johnson-Burnette, Shakiya Wilson-Taylor, seventh graders Jada Turner, Kelsi Golden, Makala Smiley, Jade Webster, and sixth grader Rahinna Johnson, and are led by Head Coach Dorian Anderson and Assistant Coach Tanesha Jones; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Excellence Phoenix earned the pride and respect of their peers and the community for their hard work and dedication to the season and for their sportsmanship and teamwork; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates and commends the Milwaukee Excellence Middle School Girls Basketball Team on winning the 2019 Milwaukee Recreation League Citywide Tournament Championship, recognizes it on an outstanding 2019-2020 season, and extends its appreciation on behalf of the citizens of the City of Milwaukee; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Milwaukee Excellence Middle School.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Scott Spiker, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on December 17, 2019.