ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, SPIKER, BORKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution recognizing Rose Daitsman for her life's work and activism.

WHEREAS,

ROSE DAITSMAN

was honored by the City of Milwaukee for her great impact in the community during a special event on December 14, 2019 (Milwaukee Human Rights Day).

WHEREAS, Rose Daitsman served as a resilient force in advocating human rights issues, including gender, racial and economic equality, and she aimed to correct these issues through the creation of coalitions, or working with existing organizations to combat these problems; and

WHEREAS, Rose Daitsman was a longtime proponent of science, technology, engineering and Math (STEM) education, and personally developed an engineering program for minority students at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, as well as a peace studies curriculum for Milwaukee Public Schools; and

WHEREAS, Rose Daitsman created the Greater Milwaukee Human Rights Coalition, where she collaborated with 10 organizations to produce a report titled: "The status of Racial Discrimination in Criminal Justice, Employment and Housing in Milwaukee, Wisconsin", and the report was submitted to the US Human Rights Network and the U.N.'s CERD committee; and

WHEREAS, In 2016 Rose Daitsman was honored with the Frank P. Zeidler Public Service Award from the City of Milwaukee for her lifelong dedication to social justice and human rights, including gender, racial and economic equality; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes the late Rose Daitsman for her dedicated work and commitment to advocating human rights issues, and for seeking to address inequalities wherever she found them; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Rose Daitsman.

Introduced by Common Council members Alderman Robert J. Bauman, Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Scott Spiker, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on December 17, 2019.