ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, SPIKER, BORKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution honoring Dasha Kelly Hamilton on being awarded the 2019-2020 Milwaukee Poet Laureate.

WHEREAS,

DASHA KELLY HAMILTON

was honored by the City of Milwaukee for her appointment as the Milwaukee Poet Laureate from 2019 to 2021 at a celebration that was held November 10, 2019 in the Richard E. and Lucile Krug Rare Books Room of the Central Library, 814 W. Wisconsin Ave.; and

WHEREAS, Dasha Kelly Hamilton received her bachelor's degree in Public Relations from Illinois State University, her master's degree in Marketing Communication from Chicago's Roosevelt University and her Master of Fine Arts degree in fiction from Antioch University; and

WHEREAS, Dasha Kelly Hamilton is a former City of Milwaukee Artist of the Year, runner-up as the State of Wisconsin's poet laureate, and an Arts Envoy to the United States Embassy where she taught and facilitated projects to build and grow communities in Botswana and the island of Mauritius; and

WHEREAS, Dasha Kelly Hamilton founded a nonprofit organization, Still Waters Collective, that has curated poetry programming and spoken word events in the Greater Milwaukee Area for nearly two decades and her work has led to professional development for young people and the elevation of minority voices; and

WHEREAS, Dasha Kelly Hamilton has dedicated her life to the art of poetry as a highly renowned writer, author, educator, activist and advocate for social justice; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Dasha Kelly Hamilton for her dedicated work and commitment to the craft of poetry and congratulates her on being named the Milwaukee Poet Laureate from 2019 to 2021; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Dasha Kelly Hamilton.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Scott Spiker, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 26, 2019.