BY ALDS. PEREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, SPIKER, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution congratulating Lily Alvarado on her selection as the 2019 Hispanic Woman of the Year by United Migrant Opportunity Services.

WHEREAS,

LILY ALVARADO

was selected as the 2019 Hispanic Woman of the Year by United Migrant Opportunity Services, and was honored during UMOS's 39th annual Hispanic Awards Banquet on October 19, 2019 at Potawatomi Hotel and Casino; and

WHEREAS, Lily Alvarado is a senior bilingual small business consultant for the Wisconsin Women's Business Initiative Corporation, and she has helped many Hispanics across the state start and grow successful businesses through her bilingual consultations, workshops, and wide-ranging professional guidance; and

WHEREAS, Lily Alvarado focuses on state-wide economic development in her Hispanic outreach efforts, and in 2016 she was the recipient of the Small Business Association Senatorial Recognition for the Women in Business Champion of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Lily Alvarado volunteers to support causes in her community by serving through organizations such as the Inner Beauty Center, Brides Walk Against Domestic Violence and El Refuge, and she is also an associate member of the National Conference of Puerto Rican Women where she supports the preservation of Puerto Rican heritage and Latino heritage through cultural activities and events; and

WHEREAS, The UMOS Hispanic Awards honor the contributions of Wisconsin Hispanics to their communities, and Lily Alvarado is an outstanding example of an individual making a positive impact on the lives of others; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Lily Alvarado on being selected as the 2019 Hispanic Woman of the Year, commends her for her achievements and accomplishments, and wishes for her a happy, healthy and successful future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Lily Alvarado.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Perez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 5, 2019.