BY ALDS. PEREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, SPIKER, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution congratulating Veronica Cecilia Salinas on her selection as the 2019 Hispanic Youth of the Year by United Migrant Opportunity Services.

WHEREAS,

VERONICA CECILIA SALINAS

was selected as the 2019 Hispanic Youth of the Year by the United Migrant Opportunity Services, and she was honored during the 39th annual UMOS Hispanic Awards Banquet on October 19, 2019 at the Potawatomi Hotel & Casino; and

WHEREAS, Veronica Cecilia Salinas is a student at St. Thomas More where she actively participates in the Latino Club, and she continues to stay involved in the community by volunteering with Mexican Fiesta, El Conquistador Latino Newspaper and the LULAC National Convention; and

WHEREAS, Veronica Salinas has aspirations of becoming a renowned corporate attorney, and at the age of 13, she won a scholarship to participate in Marquette Law School's youth program, and at the age of 14 she had obtained an internship through Reinhart Law offices; and

WHEREAS, Veronica Salinas is a model Latina, she is intelligent, well-spoken, caring and a go getter, and she is a professional folkloric dancer with the Dance Academy of Mexico, as well as a future competitor in the 2020 Miss Teen Wisconsin USA Pageant; and

WHEREAS, The UMOS Hispanic Awards honor the contributions of Wisconsin Hispanics to their communities, and in 2019, UMOS celebrates those who work to build better futures for the individuals, families and communities it serves, and Veronica Cecilia Salinas is an outstanding example of someone who is making a positive impact on the lives of others; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Veronica Cecilia Salinas on being selected as the 2019 Hispanic Youth of the Year, commends her for her achievement and accomplishments, and wishes for her a happy, healthy and successful future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Veronica Cecilia Salinas.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Perez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 5, 2019.