BY ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, SPIKER, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Whereas,

Marquette University's Educational Opportunity Program

during the 2019-2020 academic school year; and

WHEREAS, The Marquette University Educational Opportunity Program was established in 1969 as an institutional program by Arnold Mitchem through the combined efforts of students, faculty, and administrators who believe that Marquette University had both the opportunity and responsibility to make Marquette education more accessible to low income, first-generation and minority students; and

WHEREAS, Marquette's Educational Opportunity Program was the first in the nation, and has earned a reputation as one of the most distinguished, admired, and respected federal TRIO programs benefiting 14,200 students including more than 2,000 alumni; and

WHEREAS, Marquette University's Educational Opportunity Program is comprised of five programs: Student Support Services and McNair Scholars for current Marquette students, and Upward Bound, Upward Bound Math and Science, and Educational Talent Search which are pre-college services for Milwaukee-area high school students in partnership with Milwaukee Public Schools; and

WHEREAS, Special recognition is given to Sande Robinson for being Marquette's longest serving Educational Opportunity Program director, and to the dedicated current and former staff who have helped to transform the lives of students; and

WHEREAS, The success of the Marquette University's Educational Opportunity Program is evident in the success of its students who have gone on to become a cardiologist, judge, teacher, pastor, legislator, NBA player, CEO and many other impressive careers; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Marquette University and it's Educational Opportunity Program on the occasion of its 50th anniversary, and wishes it continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Marquette University Educational Opportunity Program.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 15, 2019.