BY ALDS. PEREZ, KOVAC, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, SPIKE, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, AND DODD

Resolution recognizing and congratulating Dr. Román-Marcial on the occasion of her 50th birthday.

WHEREAS,

DR. LUCÍA ROMÁN-MARCIAL

celebrated a key milestone, her 50th birthday, with family and friends during September 2019; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Lucía Román Marcial has lived her life as a dedicated healthcare visionary who was born in Hato Rey, Puerto Rico, raised in Río Piedras, Puerto Rico, and has spent two decades expanding the amount of pediatric healthcare offerings on Milwaukee's south side; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Lucía Román-Marcial received a Bachelor's of Sciences Degree in Biology in 1991 and her Doctorate in Medicine from the Universidad Central Del Caribe School of Medicine in 1995 as well as continued training and certification; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Lucía Román-Marcial has continued, for the last 20 years, to provide quality and affordable healthcare to the medically underserved population on the south side of Milwaukee and in Waukesha as a primary care pediatrician at Sixteenth Street Community Health Centers, a general life and wellness coach for English and Spanish language speakers, and as a physician at Children's Hospital of Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Román-Marcial has also been an active community member in the Greater Milwaukee Area through community service and has used her expertise as a medical professional to inspire, educate, and inform through care offerings every Saturday through discussions with low income families who need pediatric care and as a wellness volunteer at CORE El Centro; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Dr. Lucía Román-Marcial on celebrating her 50th birthday and extends for her its sincere wishes for continued health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Dr. Lucía Román-Marcial in recognition of her 50th birthday.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Nik Kovac, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson, and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 24, 2019.