BY ALDS. KOVAC, HAMILTON, PEREZ, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution congratulating Debra Brehmer on one decade of Portrait Society Gallery,

WHEREAS,

## **DEBRA BREHMER**

has served as curator and founder of Portrait Society Gallery for 10 years and her contributions to Milwaukee's art community were recognized on September 27, 2019 at Milwaukee City Hall; and

- WHEREAS, Debra Brehmer cofounded the bi-monthly arts and culture magazine, Art Muscle, in 1986 during graduate school at the University of Wisconsin Milwaukee, and then cofounded online Milwaukee arts magazine Susceptible to Images with Katherine Murrell; and
- **WHEREAS**, Debra Brehmer founded Portrait Society Gallery in Milwaukee's Third Ward and continues to curate exhibitions while being nationally recognized for her contributions to Milwaukee's art community; and
- WHEREAS, Debra Brehmer has taught at the Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design and organized an ongoing nonprofit art program that works with Milwaukee's underserved communities and provides residents with opportunities for artistic expression; and
- WHEREAS, Debra Brehmer brought Milwaukee artists to national art discussions and became a regular presenter at national art fairs Miami Beach Art Basel and Outsider Fair in New York City; and
- **WHEREAS,** Debra Brehmer has selflessly contributed to the successes of Milwaukee's art community for nearly three decades, now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Debra Brehmer on one decade as curator and founder of Portrait Society Gallery, extends its appreciation on behalf of the arts community and wishes her continued success; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented Debra Brehmer, an outstanding contributor to Milwaukee's art community.

Introduced by Common Council members Nik Kovac, Ashanti Hamilton, Nikiya Dodd, Mark A. Borkowski, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson, and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 24, 2019.