BY ALDS. PÉREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, KOVAC, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution recognizing Steve Ohly for his years of dedicated work and positive contributions to the community.

WHEREAS,

STEVE OHLY

retired with satisfaction as founder and manager of the State of Wisconsin's largest free clinic Aurora Walkers Point Community Clinic on September 13, 2019 after nearly 27 years providing accessible and affordable healthcare in the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Steve Ohly developed an empathetic approach to care in 1992 as a Nurse Practitioner while working at The Aurora Madison Street Clinic where he served approximately 400 to 800 community members per night with meals, led community outreach by bicycle, cleaned care facilities, and saw patients; and

WHEREAS, Steve Ohly further shared and displayed compassion and empathy through his work by founding Walker's Point Community Clinic which provides nearly 12,000 primary, urgent, specialty, integrative, and behavior health appointments per year largely to Spanish speaking immigrants who live without insurance options; and

WHEREAS, Steve Ohly tirelessly dedicated his medical career and skills to educating students on good clinical care, provided Milwaukeeans with accessible healthcare, and created medical offerings with compassion for those in at-risk communities; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith thanks Steve Ohly for his service to his patients, staff members, and citizens of Milwaukee, congratulates him on his retirement, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes him continued success and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Steve Ohly, an outstanding citizen and provider of quality care.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, Nik Kovac, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson, and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 24, 2019.