BY ALD. ZIELINSKI, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution congratulating Paul Mathews on his retirement as president and chief executive officer of the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts.

WHEREAS,

PAUL MATHEWS

announced his retirement as president and chief executive officer of the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts on July 17, 2019 after 21 years of serving the organization; and

WHEREAS, Paul Mathews continued the Marcus Center's acclaimed history of excellence in arts performances, education and programming that has been established over the Center's 50 years; and

WHEREAS, Paul Mathews was essential in forming a strong, vibrant vision for the Center's future through the Campus Master Plan, which represents a complete reimagining of the public spaces and gathering places on the campus, as well as significant improvements to the interior spaces for the Center and its resident partners; and

WHEREAS, Paul Mathews led the Marcus Center's successful effort to retain an annually balanced budget during his 21-year tenure, continuing a trend that remains unbroken since the Center's establishment in 1969; and

WHEREAS, Paul Mathews worked to secure the Marcus Center's new 99-year lease with Milwaukee County and a contract extension with Broadway Across America, which will bring the best of Broadway to Milwaukee for another 12 years; and

WHEREAS, Paul Mathews has an extensive history of service in the Milwaukee community, previously working for 12 years as a Milwaukee County supervisor; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Paul Mathews on his impending retirement from the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, extends its appreciation on behalf of the local arts community and wishes for him a happy and healthy future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Paul Mathews.

Introduced by Common Council members Tony Zielinski, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 30, 2019.