BY ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution recognizing Mike Budenholzer on his achievements throughout the Milwaukee Bucks Organization & being named NBA Coach of the Year.

WHEREAS,

## **MIKE BUDENHOLZER**

received the NBA Coach of the Year Award during the 2018-2019 NBA Awards on June 24, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Mike Budenholzer led the Milwaukee Bucks during the 18'-19' NBA Season to a historic run for the franchise and the City of Milwaukee with a record of 60 wins and 22 losses, and Milwaukee's deep playoff run, sweeping the Detroit Pistons four games to none, beating the Boston Celtics four games to one, and taking the team to the conference finals for the first time since 2001; and

**WHEREAS,** Mike Budenholzer signed with the Milwaukee Bucks during the 2018 offseason, and was faced coaching an up-and-coming NBA superstar and to lead the Milwaukee Bucks Organization along a path of positive progression; and

WHEREAS, Mike Budenholzer defied all expectations, leading the Milwaukee Bucks to the best record in the NBA and the best rated defensive team and the fourth best rated offensive team in the NBA; and

WHEREAS, Mike Budenholzer was named 2019 East All-Star Team head coach and coached a team that included two of his top Bucks talents, Giannis Antetokounmpo and Khris Middleton; and

**WHEREAS,** Mike Budenholzer while tenured with the Atlanta Hawks won his first Coach of the Year accomplishment leading the 14'-15' Hawks team to a record of 60 wins and 22 loses and led the team to the Eastern Conference Finals; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and congratulates Mike Budenholzer on being named NBA Coach of the Year, and thanks him for leading the Bucks during an amazing 2018-2019 season, and wishes him continued health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Mike Budenholzer.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 9, 2019.