BY ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution honoring La Keisha W. Butler for her service as executive director of the Fire and Police Commission.

WHEREAS,

## LA KEISHA W. BUTLER

departed city service as executive director of the Fire and Police Commission on June 28, 2019 after one year of dedicated service in that role to the City of Milwaukee, in addition to more than five years of service as the director of intergovernmental relations and as an assistant city attorney; and

WHEREAS, La Keisha W. Butler received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and a Bachelor of Science degree in Information Systems from the University of Maryland, Baltimore, a Doctor of Jurisprudence from Vanderbilt University Law School and an Executive Masters of Law in Taxation from the New York University School of Law; and

WHEREAS, La Keisha W. Butler moved to Wisconsin in 2010, when she began work as an attorney for the Wisconsin Department of Revenue, representing the state in income, sale, and property tax cases; and

WHEREAS, La Keisha W. Butler transitioned to the City Attorney's Office for the City of Milwaukee as an assistant city attorney in 2014 where she advised and served the Common Council Licenses Committee, the Fire and Police Commission, and handled various types of litigation; and

WHEREAS, La Keisha W. Butler became the director of intergovernmental relations in July 2017, and was appointed executive director of the City's Fire and Police Commission in May 2018; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith honors La Keisha W. Butler's service to the Fire and Police Commission and the City of Milwaukee, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for her a happy and healthy future; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to La Keisha W. Butler, an outstanding employee.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Nikiya Dodd and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 9, 2019.