BY ALDS. PÉREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution recognizing Arts @ Large on its Art and Fashion Gala event on May 17, 2019.

WHEREAS,

ARTS @ LARGE

celebrated an annual signature benefit, The Art and Fashion Gala, on May 17, 2019 at the new Arts @ Large Community Center, 1100 S. 5th St. in historic Walker's Point; and

WHEREAS, Arts @ Large uses the arts as a dynamic tool to engage students and people of all ages in lifelong learning, and provides meaningful employment for visual, performing, literary and multimedia artists, to inspire all ages to share their unique stories; and

WHEREAS, Arts @ Large builds a vibrant arts culture in schools and our community, celebrating the rich diversity of Milwaukee, and activates the city's communities to build environments that support arts-rich, lifelong learning; and

WHEREAS, Exhibitions, performances, and art-making workshops celebrate the beautiful work created by students and the public at the Arts @ Large Community Center, and thousands of gallery visitors flock to arts events that serve as the catalyst for community conversations on critical topics that affect the quality of life in Milwaukee, the state, the nation and the globe; and

WHEREAS, Arts @ Large programs transform the way teachers teach and students learn in K-12 schools across the City of Milwaukee, its program impact in 2017-2018 included 55 K-12 schools, 12,820 students, 1,016 teachers, 128 artist educators and \$750,000 paid in artist fees; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates and recognizes Arts @ Large on the celebration of The Art and Fashion Gala, extends its sincere appreciation on behalf of the community for its valuable contributions and extends its wishes for continued success and prosperity; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Arts @ Large.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 29, 2019.