BY ALDS. BAUMAN, JOHNSON, COGGS, HAMILTON, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, MURPHY, KOVAC, DODD

Resolution congratulating and commending the Milwaukee Wave on winning the Major Arena Soccer League championship title.

WHEREAS,

## THE MILWAUKEE WAVE

won the 2019 Major Arena Soccer League championship title on May 5, 2019 at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Panther Arena; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Wave, a team composed of players who dedicated themselves to hard work, teamwork, and excellence, put together another historic season by winning the championship title for the seventh time in team history, along with the honor of various individual player awards; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Wave, led by MVP Marcio Leite, finished the regular season with a very successful run as the team with the second-best record of 21-3, and advanced to the playoffs where they dominated the Kansas City Comets in the first two games in the best of three; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Wave then advanced to overcome the Baltimore Blast in the next round of playoffs with a score of 2-1 at the UW-Milwaukee Panther Arena, giving the team the momentum to face off against the Monterrey Flash in the championship game; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Wave defeated the Monterrey Flash by a final score of 5-2 in order to take the Rob Newman Cup, an historic achievement that has not occurred since head coach Giuliano Olivero was a player on the team in the 2011-2012 season; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates and commends The Milwaukee Wave on winning the 2019 Major Arena Soccer League championship title, recognizes it on an outstanding 2018-2019 season, and extends its appreciation on behalf of the citizens of the City of Milwaukee; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to The Milwaukee Wave.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert J. Bauman, Cavalier Johnson, Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Michael J. Murphy, Nik Kovac and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 29, 2019.