ALDS. STAMPER, HAMILTON, COGGS, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution recognizing and congratulating Rev. George H. Jolly on the occasion of his 31st Anniversary as pastor at Mount Pilgrim Missionary Baptist Church.

WHEREAS,

REV. GEORGE H. JOLLY

celebrated his 31st anniversary of service to his congregation on April 28, 2019 at Mount Pilgrim Missionary Baptist Church, 2700 W. Brown St.; and

WHEREAS, Rev. George H. Jolly was installed as Pastor of the Mount Pilgrim Missionary Baptist Church on April 17, 1988 where he has faithfully served for 31 years; and

WHEREAS, Rev. George H. Jolly was born in Dermott, Arkansas on April 3, 1950 to Fred and Betty Jolly and his family moved to Milwaukee when he was nine months old; and

WHEREAS, Rev. George H. Jolly has been married to Diane Jolly for 19 years and they have 5 children and many grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, Rev. George H. Jolly attended Bethel Baptist Church, where he served in many roles including Sunday School Superintendent, choir member, Deacon Board and later as an Associate Minister before his tenure at Mount Pilgrim Missionary Baptist Church; and

WHEREAS, Under Rev. George H. Jolly's leadership and teaching, and ministry, the church's membership has grown significantly and many have strengthened their commitment to submit to the will of God; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee formally recognizes Rev. George H. Jolly on the occasion of his 31st anniversary as pastor of Mount Pilgrim Missionary Baptist Church, thanks him for his many years of service and outstanding contributions to the community and wishes him many more years of prosperity; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Rev. George H. Jolly, an exemplary spiritual leader and member of the community.

Introduced by Common Council members Russell W. Stamper II, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 7, 2019.