BY ALDS. COGGS, HAMILTON, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution congratulating Mount Zion Missionary Baptist Church on its 100th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

MOUNT ZION MISSIONARY BAPTIST CHURCH

celebrated 100 years of faith, history and service to the Milwaukee community on May 1, 2019 at 2207 N. 2nd St.; and

WHEREAS, The Mount Zion Missionary Baptist Church was founded on May 1, 1919 by an inspired group of people under the guiding hand of Reverend Winchester Boyd, and I.A. Coppage was named the first minister; and

WHEREAS, Over the last 100 years, the Mount Zion Missionary Baptist Church has grown to 1,000 members, has been led by Reverend Louis E. Sibley III since 1986 and benefits the community through outreach centers like the Mount Zion Child Development Center, Food Pantry and Clothing Bank and the Gary Dobbs Resource Center; and

WHEREAS, Mount Zion Missionary Baptist Church serves as a moral compass for the community, continuing to be a shepherd for Milwaukee which is a better place to live because of the service and example it provides; and

WHEREAS, Mount Zion Missionary Baptist Church's services, Bible studies and community outreach programs have made it a stronghold for faith, leadership, and service in the community and is proven by the many dedicated members who call it home; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the Mount Zion Missionary Baptist Church on the 100th anniversary of its dedication, thanks it for its historical and positive impact on the community and wishes for it continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Mount Zion Missionary Baptist Church.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 7, 2019.