BY ALDS. PÉREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution congratulating Dr. Jane Hopp on being awarded the 2019 Friends of the Hispanic Community Award.

WHEREAS,

## DR. JANE HOPP

was awarded the 2019 Friends of the Hispanic Community Award for her contributions to the Milwaukee Hispanic community, and was recognized at the United Community Center's 49<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Celebration on May 3, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Jane Hopp has shown a sincere commitment to the betterment of her community through her work as a friend to Milwaukee's Hispanic community; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Jane Hopp used her strengths as an educator at Carroll University to focus on the development of community partnerships, including those with the United Community Center, that enable first-generation and minority students to achieve their academic and career goals; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Jane Hopp worked with Carroll University to launch the PASOS (Preparing and Advancing Students for Opportunities in Science) Program, which seeks to fill the shortage of bilingual healthcare professionals in Wisconsin by exposing students to careers in nursing, physical therapy and physician assistance; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Jane Hopp embodies the purpose of the Friends of the Hispanic Community Award, an honor which recognizes leaders who have made immeasurable contributions to the betterment of their neighbors by building bridges and advancing the Hispanic community; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Dr. Jane Hopp on receiving the 2019 Friends of the Hispanic Community Award, commends her for her achievement and accomplishments, and wishes for her a happy, healthy and successful future; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Dr. Jane Hopp.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 7, 2019.