BY ALDS. PÉREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution congratulating Glen Hackmann on being awarded the 2019 Friends of the Hispanic Community Award.

WHEREAS,

GLEN HACKMANN

was awarded the 2019 Friends of the Hispanic Community Award for her contributions to the Milwaukee Hispanic community, and was recognized at the United Community Center's 49th Anniversary Celebration on May 3, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Glen Hackmann has shown a sincere commitment to the betterment of his community through his work as a friend to Milwaukee's Hispanic community; and

WHEREAS, Glen Hackmann has been a leader in the arts and education, developing a broad spectrum of organizations including the United Performing Arts Fund (UPAF) and the Milwaukee Ballet and Carmen Schools of Science and Technology, and has been recognized both locally and nationally for his commitment to his community; and

WHEREAS, Glen Hackmann has been a longtime friend of the United Community Center, and was integral in the expansion of the Carmen Schools of Science and Technology through his position as the board chair, a position that has allowed him to help improve the quality of life for Milwaukee youth; and

WHEREAS, Glen Hackmann embodies the purpose of the Friends of the Hispanic Community Award, an honor which recognizes leaders who have made immeasurable contributions to the betterment of their neighbors by building bridges and advancing the Hispanic community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Glen Hackmann on receiving the 2019 Friends of the Hispanic Community Award, commends her for her achievement and accomplishments, and wishes for her a happy, healthy and successful future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Glen Hackmann.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 7, 2019.