BY ALDS. PÉREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution congratulating Elaine Burke on being awarded the 2019 Friends of the Hispanic Community Award.

WHEREAS,

ELAINE BURKE

was awarded the 2019 Friends of the Hispanic Community Award for her contributions to the Milwaukee Hispanic community, and was recognized at the United Community Center's 49th Anniversary Celebration on May 3, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Elaine Burke has shown a sincere commitment to the betterment of her community through her work as a friend to Milwaukee's Hispanic community; and

WHEREAS, Elaine Burke, a generous and compassionate community leader in Milwaukee and trustee emeritus at Alverno College, is a longtime friend of the United Community Center and has continued to show her support for her neighbors through her entrepreneurial spirit; and

WHEREAS, Elaine Burke both helped to create, and currently leads the Trek Bicycle company, a business that strives to help families enjoy life in the outdoors, and greatly values their employees and customers through their generosity and kindness, giving back to the community to help the advancement of the most deserving families; and

WHEREAS, Elaine Burke embodies the purpose of the Friends of the Hispanic Community Award, an honor which recognizes leaders who have made immeasurable contributions to the betterment of their neighbors by building bridges and advancing the Hispanic community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Elaine Burke on receiving the 2019 Friends of the Hispanic Community Award, commends her for her achievement and accomplishments, and wishes for her a happy, healthy and successful future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Elaine Burke.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 7, 2019.