BY ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution congratulating Lupe Martinez on the occasion of his 50th anniversary celebration with UMOS.

WHEREAS,

LUPE MARTINEZ

celebrated his 50th anniversary on May 5, 2019, reflecting on a decade of service to UMOS and the city of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Lupe Martinez has devoted his entire 50-year professional career to improving the living and working conditions of migrant and seasonal farm workers and other low-income populations at UMOS; and

WHEREAS, Lupe Martinez has held the position of President and CEO of UMOS for the last 45 years, leading the organization to national recognition as one of the largest Hispanic-managed, non-profits in the U.S., spanning five different states; and

WHEREAS, Lupe Martinez advocates for under-served populations at the local, state and national level, with a focus on improving the quality of life for migrant and seasonal farm workers, never compromising on his philosophy to treat every customer, every client, as if he or she were your aunt or uncle, brother or sister, and to serve them with dignity and honesty and to go the extra mile in making a difference in their lives; and

WHEREAS, Lupe Martinez has been personally recognized for his selfless commitment to the betterment of others, including awards from the Green Bay Packers, the Farmworker Advocate Hall of Fame, and The World Citizen Award, and was named the most powerful Latino in the state of Wisconsin by Madison 365 Publication, among many others; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Lupe Martinez on his 50th anniversary of selfless service, extends its sincere appreciation on behalf of the community and wishes for him continued success and prosperity; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Lupe Martinez.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 16, 2019.