BY ALDS. COGGS, HAMILTON, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Gregory Sims, who passed from this life on March 21, 2019.

WHEREAS,

## **GREGORY SIMS**

passed from this life on March 21, 2019, and funeral services were held on March 30, 2019 at St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Parish, 1927 N. 4<sup>th</sup> Street; and

WHEREAS, Gregory Sims born on May 19, 1964 to Samuel and Geraldine Sims in Milwaukee, where he was raised and spent most of his life; and

WHEREAS, Gregory Sims attended Messmer High School of Milwaukee, and through listening to the voice of God, accepted Christ and joined St. Gall's Church; and

WHEREAS, Gregory Sims, a wonderful and protective brother and son, demonstrated character through his strong will and determination in everything he did, and while giving a lot of himself to others throughout his life, made everyone that he encountered feel protected and loved; and

WHEREAS, Gregory turned his passion for cooking and people into a career, never missed a day of work as he prepared meals for many around the country at the full service Holiday Inns, the Ground Round, and the Radisson Hotel and Casino in Green Bay, Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, Gregory Sims was preceded in death by his mother Geraldine, and leaves to cherish his memory his loving father, Samuel E. Sims, his dear brother, Samuel C. Sims, two nephews, Skyler and Shae Sims, a host of relatives, aunts, cousins, family, friends, and members of the 5 Points Neighborhood Association; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the family and friends of Gregory Sims, recognizes his lasting impact on his community, and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this fine, upstanding man; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Gregory Sims.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 16, 2019.