BY ALDS. BAUMAN, COGGS, HAMILTON, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution congratulating Markus Howard of the Marquette University Men's Basketball Team for earning the BIG EAST Player of the Year Award and being named to the All-American second team.

WHEREAS,

MARKUS HOWARD

was named both the Player of the Year in the BIG EAST Conference for 2019 and to the AP All-American second team for his outstanding play during the 2018-19 season; and

WHEREAS, Markus Howard joined the Golden Eagles as a freshmen in 2016 after being a top-100 nationally ranked prospect; and

WHEREAS, Markus Howard averaged 25.0 points in all games during 2018-19, led the league with 112 made 3-pointers and shot 41.6 percent from 3-point range while rising to second place among Marquette's all-time leading scorers with 1,955 career points; and

WHEREAS, Markus Howard recorded 10 thirty-point games during the 2018-19 season and broke the BIG EAST and Marquette men's basketball record on January 9, 2019 when he scored 53 points against the Creighton University Bluejays; and

WHEREAS, Markus Howard is only the second Marquette University player to win BIG EAST Player of the Year and is the first AP All-America selection for Marquette since the 2011-12 season; and

WHEREAS, A key team leader both on and off the court, Markus Howard helped the Marquette University Men's Basketball Team finish second in the BIG EAST conference and earn a 2018-2019 NCAA tournament berth through his record breaking season; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates and commends Markus Howard of the Marquette University Men's Basketball Team for earning BIG EAST Player of the Year and AP All-American second team honors, recognizes him on an outstanding 2018-2019 season, and extends its appreciation on behalf of the citizens of the City of Milwaukee; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Markus Howard.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert J. Bauman, Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 16, 2019.