BY ALDS. COGGS, HAMILTON, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution congratulating Bria Smith on receiving the 2019 Vel Phillips Trailblazer Award.

WHEREAS,

BRIA SMITH

was recognized for her contributions to the City of Milwaukee upon receiving the 2019 Vel Phillips Trailblazer Award during a special ceremony in the Vel R. Phillips Ante Chamber at City Hall on March 26, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Bria Smith, a student at Franklin High School, first demonstrated her leadership through her service as the President of the City of Milwaukee Youth Council, and was named Miss Juneteenth in June 2017; and

WHEREAS, Bria Smith recognized the need for action in response to the gun violence that plagued her community, and brought her concerns to public attention while speaking at the March 2018 March For Our Lives in Washington, D.C., and later as a speaker during a national campaign to address gun violence named "Road to Change"; and

WHEREAS, Bria Smith focused her message on the importance of realizing the ways gun violence impacts often overlooked communities, such as those of a lower socioeconomic status and the Black population of inner-city Milwaukee, and emphasized the need for inclusivity in the conversation about gun violence in America; and

WHEREAS, Bria Smith used her opportunity on a national platform to raise the voices of underrepresented minorities and brought awareness to key issues in her community, exemplifying the purpose of the Vel Phillips Trailblazer Award, an award for those who work to improve the quality of life for residents in Milwaukee; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Bria Smith on receiving the 2019 Vel Phillips Trailblazer Award, extends its appreciation for her exemplary service, and commends her for her dedication to the greater Milwaukee community; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Bria Smith, an outstanding citizen.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 26, 2019.