BY ALDS. COGGS, HAMILTON, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution congratulating Dr. Raymond Winbush on delivering the Keynote for the 2019 King Fest.

WHEREAS.

DR. RAYMOND WINBUSH

was honored as the Keynote Speaker for the 18th Annual King Fest celebration held January 21, 2019 at the Wisconsin Black Historical Society, 2620 W. Center St.; and

WHEREAS, The 18th Annual King Fest celebration included a scholarships presentation, as well as local and national speakers, with the esteemed Dr. Raymond Winbush delivering the prime keynote address on a day honoring Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. on his 90th birthday; and

WHEREAS, As a scholar and activist, Dr. Raymond Winbush has been known for his systems-thinking approaches to understanding the impact of racism and white supremacy on the global African community; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Winbush's writings, consultations, and research have been instrumental in understanding developmental stages in Black males, public policy and its connection to compensatory justice, relationships between Black males and females, infusion of African studies into school curricula, and the impact of Hip-Hop culture on the contemporary American landscape.

WHEREAS, Dr. Raymond Winbush has received numerous teaching awards and has taught at Oakwood, Alabama A&M, Vanderbilt, and Fisk Universities, he is the author of numerous articles and has published three books, and has lectured in Europe, Australia, South America, throughout the United States, Africa and the Caribbean on the contributions of Africans to world culture; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Dr. Raymond Winbush on giving the Keynote Address for the 18th Annual King Fest celebration, commends him and wishes for him success in all of his future endeavors; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Dr. Raymond Winbush.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of

the Milwaukee Common Council on February 5, 2019.