ALDS. WITKOWSKI, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, DODD

resolution honoring Margaret Rozga on the achievement of being named the Wisconsin Poet Laureate 2019-2020.

WHEREAS,

MARGARET ROZGA

was honored by the Common Council during a special ceremony at Historic City Hall on February 5, 2019 in recognition of her new title as the Wisconsin Poet Laureate 2019-2020; and

WHEREAS, Margaret Rozga, a life-long Wisconsin resident, completed her formal education at Alverno College and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, obtaining her Masters and PhD in English; and

WHEREAS, Margaret Rozga joined the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) in the 1960s and has nobly defended civil rights both locally and nationally through her writing and actions; and

WHEREAS, Margaret Rozga has fought for equal housing opportunities and inclusivity in the community and was a key participant in the open housing marches of 1967 and 1968, drawing upon these challenges in her writings, including her poetry in, "Where I Want to Live: Poems for Fair and Affordable Housing;" and

WHEREAS, Margaret Rozga was awarded recognition for her works by the Independent Publishers Book Awards and the Wisconsin Library Association in 2009, and continued to share her literary passion as an esteemed professor of English at the University of Wisconsin-Waukesha; and

WHEREAS, Margaret Rozga has dedicated her life to the art of poetry as a highly accomplished writer, author, educator and passionate social justice advocate; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Margaret Rozga for her dedicated work and commitment to the craft of poetry and congratulates her on being named the Wisconsin Poet Laureate 2019-2020; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Margaret Rozga.

Introduced by Common Council members Terry L. Witkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 5, 2019.