BY ALDS MURPHY, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution recognizing Pastor Timothy Perkins for 33 years of service at Bethel-Bethany United Church of Christ.

WHEREAS,

REV. DR. TIMOTHY PERKINS

retired with pride and satisfaction after 33 years of dedicated service to Bethel-Bethany United Church of Christ, and a special celebration was held in his honor on December 5, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Timothy Perkins, born on February 17,1954, completed his studies for the priesthood and earned his Doctor of Ministry at United Theological Seminary, and was ordained on May 19, 1985; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Timothy Perkins served at Macalester Plymouth UCC from 1983-1984 and went on to serve as associate minister at St. Paul's UCC from 1984 to 1985; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Timothy Perkins joined Bethel-Bethany UCC on June 1, 1985 and has devoted 33 years of his life to faith and his community as pastor, spearheading and supporting Milwaukee community initiatives for youth and adults through meaningful programs including Urban Immersion, Common Ground, Community Dinners and organizations such as the Sherman Park Association of Religious Communities (SPARC), St. Ben's, Interfaith Conference of Greater Milwaukee, Interfaith Northwest Older Adult Programs, EPiC - Ecumenical Partners in Christ - Sherman Park churches and the Islamic Center of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Timothy Perkins has lived a life of inspiring, helping, and connecting people through his devoted faith and service dedicated to the Greater Milwaukee Community, the Tri-Block Neighborhood in Sherman Park and the United Church of Christ in Wisconsin; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Rev. Dr. Timothy Perkins on his retirement from Bethel-Bethany United Church of Christ, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for him a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Rev. Dr. Timothy Perkins.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on December 18, 2018.