## BY ALDS. PÉREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Lupe Martinez on his selection as the 2018 Nonprofit Champion of the Year by the Latino Entrepreneurial Network of Southeastern Wisconsin, Inc.

WHEREAS,

## LUPE MARTINEZ

was selected as 2018 Nonprofit Champion of the Year by the Latino Entrepreneurial Network (LEN) of Southeastern Wisconsin, Inc.; and

**WHEREAS**, Lupe Martinez has demonstrated a firm commitment and passion to foster, develop and implement relationships that benefit the US Latino Community and has demonstrated his entrepreneurial spirit committing himself to supporting his community and employees while developing a thriving enterprise; and

**WHEREAS**, Lupe Martinez exemplifies LEN's mission statement, which is to connect individuals, entrepreneurs and microenterprises with resources through strategic alliance formation, networking and the sharing of business and financial practices, and all members take a pledge to uphold the organization's values of acting with integrity, maintaining high ethics, sharing knowledge, investing in the community and fostering professionalism; and

WHEREAS, Lupe Martinez has devoted his entire 49-year professional career to improving the living and working conditions of migrant and seasonal farm workers at UMOS, and Lupe and UMOS have been instrumental in connecting Small Business Operators with Workforce Development Programs that have assisted them to secure qualified workers and have also been instrumental in raising awareness about the issues that emerging entrepreneurs face in our State at all levels; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Lupe Martinez on being selected as 2018 Nonprofit Champion of the Year, commends him for his achievements and accomplishments and wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it

*FURTHER RESOLVED*, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Lupe Martinez, Nonprofit Champion of the Year r.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on December 18, 2018.