BY ALDS. PEREZ, WITKOWSKI, DONOVAN, ZIELINSKI, MURPHY, COGGS, BOHL, BORKOWSKI, LEWIS, JOHNSON, STAMPER

Resolution congratulating Valentina Loeder on her selection as the 2016 Hispanic Youth of the Year by United Migrant Opportunity Services.

WHEREAS,

VALENTINA LOEDER

was selected as the 2018 Hispanic Youth of the Year by United Migrant Opportunity Services, and was honored during UMOS's 38th annual Hispanic Awards Banquet on October 20, 2018 at Potawatomi Hotel and Casino; and

WHEREAS, Since she was a little girl, Valentina Loeder has always wanted to make an impact on other people's lives, and has been involved with Civil Air Patrol from a young age, a program which helped her build morals and strengthened her integrity while teaching her the importance of self-respect, respect for others, excellence and the meaning of being a Good Samaritan; and

WHEREAS, Valentina Loeder was the first Latina to complete the Future Law Enforcement Youth Academy Program with the FBI and Marquette University acting as an asset to the program as a voice for the Latina community; and

WHEREAS, Valentina Loeder learned the value of her Mexican culture through her love of dance and participation in the Instituto Cultural de Danza, and learned the value of volunteering and community participation through her participation in UMOS Brides Walk against domestic violence and Centro Hispano's food bank; and

WHEREAS, The UMOS Hispanic Awards honor the contributions of Wisconsin Hispanics to their communities, and Valentina Loeder is an outstanding example of someone making a positive impact on the lives of others; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Valentina Loeder on being selected as the 2018 Hispanic Youth of the Year, commends her for her accomplishments, and wishes for her a happy, healthy and successful future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Valentina Loeder.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 5, 2018.