## BY ALDS. HAMILTON, KOVAC, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating and commending the Rufus King High School Girls' Cross Country Team on an outstanding 2018 season.

## WHEREAS,

## RUFUS KING HIGH SCHOOL GIRLS' CROSS COUNTRY TEAM

placed 6th in the 2018 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) Cross Country State Championship on October 27, 2018 at the Ridges Golf Course in Wisconsin Rapids; and

WHEREAS, The 2018 Rufus King High School girls' cross country team, composed of members who dedicated themselves to hard work and excellence, were able to bring out the best in themselves while putting together a season that no MPS school has ever done before; and

WHEREAS, the members who took part in this Division I event was Alitza Romero, Margaret Froh, Peyton Weiss, Natalie Redding, Findlay Drabant, Hannah Olenchek and Kaye Clark; and

**WHEREAS,** Milwaukee Public Schools have qualified for the state championship twice before in 1979 and 1982, where they took  $12^{th}$  and  $16^{th}$  place; and

**WHEREAS,** The Generals boys' and girls' teams have won conference titles for the last six seasons but not qualified for state as a team until this historic season; and

**WHEREAS,** The Rufus King High School Lady Generals earned the pride and respect of their peers and of the community for their hard work, dedication and for their sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates and commends the Rufus King High School Girls' Cross Country Team on placing 6<sup>th</sup> in the 2018 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) Division I Cross Country State Championship, recognizes it on an historic 2018 season, and extends its appreciation on behalf of the citizens of the City of Milwaukee; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Rufus King High School.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Nik Kovac, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 5, 2018.