BY ALDS. RAINEY, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution honoring and congratulating Martin Lawrence for his comedic performance at the UWM Panther Arena.

WHEREAS,

MARTIN LAWRENCE

delighted his audience and tickled rib cages at his comedy performance at the UWM Panther Arena for his LIT AF Tour on November 3, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Martin Lawrence is a highly popular American stand-up comedian, actor, producer, talk show host and writer who was discovered in the 1990s, establishing his Hollywood career as a leading actor, most notably in television sitcom "Martin" and films including "House Party," "Boomerang," "Bad Boys," "Wild Hogs," "Nothing to Lose," "Blue Streak," "Life," "Big Momma's House" and "A Thin Line Between Love & Hate"; and

WHEREAS, Martin Lawrence has arranged a show featuring prominent figures in American comedy including Jay Pharaoh, J.B. Smoove, Rickey Smiley, Michael Blackson, Deon Cole, Bruce Bruce, Benji Brown and other comedic greats and is touring the nation with them on a 16-date arena trek; and

WHEREAS, After an injury ended his professional boxing aspirations, Martin Lawrence relentlessly persevered in his life finding solace in laughter, using his gift for stand up in New York's comedy clubs, where he honed his craft during the 1980s, before hitting it big with his own TV show in the 1990s; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his comedy career, Martin Lawrence has had a remarkable talent for making his audiences roll in the aisles with his witty observational humor and energetic character movements and mannerisms, using every inch of the stage to tell rib-tickling stories about himself and his views on race, sex, life and aging; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Martin Lawrence for his spectacular and hilarious comedic performance at the UWM Panther Arena on November 3, 2018; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Martin Lawrence.

Introduced by Common Council members Khalif J. Rainey, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 5, 2018.