BY ALDS. RAINEY, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution honoring and congratulating Ernie Gee on the celebration of 41 years in radio.

WHEREAS,

ERNIE GEE

has dedicated 41 years of his life to Wisconsin radio, sharing his passion and supporting fellow aspiring radio personalities and was recognized for his achievements on November 3, 2018 at The Comfort Zone Entertainment Center; and

WHEREAS, Ernie Gee attended Milwaukee Lincoln High School participating in a host of extracurricular activities including basketball, football, baseball, marching band and concert band and was crowned Junior Prom Prince having won his school's talent show dancing like James Brown; and

WHEREAS, Following high school, Ernie Gee enrolled in University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point where he studied Communications and demonstrated his love of music by carrying records for the disc jockeys at 860 WNOV; and

WHEREAS, In 1977 Ernie Gee hosted his first radio event, an R&B and Hip-Hop show at WNOV, whereupon he was promoted to Music & Program Director at WNOV seizing the opportunity to establish himself while supporting local and national radio personalities including Homer Blow, Earl Stokes, Wayne CK, Wolf D, Rob Hardy, Dave TJ, Kevin Buchanan, Black Cherry, Chris Levy, Dellio "The Dude" and a number of others helping them jumpstart their careers; and

WHEREAS, Ernie Gee left WNOV in 1997 to host Saturday Jam Sessions at 1290 WMCS and throughout his life has been given numerous awards and accolades for his excellence in radio including National Program Director of The Year in 1989 and the 25th Annual Black Excellence Award in 2010; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Ernie Gee for his continued service and dedication to the radio industry, and congratulates him on 41 successful years; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Ernie Gee.

Introduced by Common Council members Khalif J. Rainey, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 5, 2018.