BY ALDS. COGGS, HAMILTON, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution recognizing the month of October, 2018 as Bullying Prevention Month

WHEREAS,

UNITY DAY AGAINST BULLYING

was marked during a special event at Milwaukee City Hall on October 24, 2018, as Common Council members and others vowed to continue standing up against unacceptable behavior or treatment of others; and

WHEREAS, Bullying is an intentional behavior that hurts, harms, or humiliates a person, either physically or emotionally, and is often repeated; and

WHEREAS, The reasons for being bullied reported most often by students are looks, body shape, and race, and 74 percent of LGBT students have been verbally bullied because of their sexual orientation, all of which are appalling reasons for the widespread bullying behavior our nation currently faces; and

WHEREAS, The National Center for Educational Statistics reports that more than 20% of students report being bullied, while additional studies show the sad reality that 64% of children who are bullied do not report it, indicating that it is quite possible that over 55% of young people are actually victims of this intentional harm, whether they report it or not; and

WHEREAS, More than half of bullying situations stop when a peer intervenes on behalf of the person being bullied, and

WHEREAS, The community must work together to educate everyone about of the consequences of turning a blind eye to bullying, and we must intervene as a positive force, standing up for the dignity of all people; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee recognizes October 2018 as Bullying Prevention Month in Milwaukee and that October 24, 2018 is Unity Day Against Bullying which is promoted by wearing the color orange in order to initiate conversations about bullying, and to draw community attention to the problem of bullying; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Generations Against Bullying.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 5, 2018.