BY ALDS. PEREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Rev. Michael J. Glastetter, OFM, who passed from this life on September 30, 2018.

WHEREAS,

REV. MICHAEL J. GLASTETTER, OFM

passed from this life at the age of 47 on September 30, 2018 and funeral services were held at the Basilica of St. Josaphat in Milwaukee on October 7, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Michael J. Glastetter, OFM, was born and reared in Peoria, Illinois, earned his bachelor of arts degree from the University of Notre Dame and his master of divinity from Catholic Theological Union in Chicago, and was beginning his ninth year as pastor at the Basilica of St. Josaphat at the time of his passing; and

WHEREAS, Father Glastetter professed his Solemn Vows as a Conventual Franciscan in 1998, was ordained a priest at St. Josaphat in 1999 and ministered as a parochial vicar at St. Josaphat until 2005; and

WHEREAS, Father Glastetter served as the Pastor of Holy Family Catholic Church (his home parish) in Peoria from 2005 to 2010, overseeing the complete rebuilding of the parish's friary following a devastating fire; and

WHEREAS, Father Glastetter was dedicated to preserving the rich history of the Basilica and serving and leading all parish members and his work with the St. Josaphat Basilica Foundation included organizing and planning the foundation's major fundraising event, the Loaves and Fishes Gala; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Michael J. Glastetter, OFM leaves to cherish his memory his family, the Basilica of St. Josaphat community and a whole host of other loving family members and friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the family and friends of Rev. Michael J. Glastetter, OFM and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this fine man; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Rev. Michael J. Glastetter, OFM.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 16, 2018.