BY ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, LEWIS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution recognizing Pastor Jerome Smith Sr. of Greater Praise Church of God in Christ.

WHEREAS, PASTOR JEROME SMITH SR.

is in his final year in the role as State President of Church of God in Christ World Mission; and

WHEREAS, Pastor Jerome Smith Sr. was appointed to the COGIC Office of Jurisdictional World Mission president in 2012 by the late Bishop J. C. William, and since founded the Feed the Community Night every 2nd and 4th Wednesday night, and co-founded the tri-jurisdiction Walk A Mile In My Shoes walkathon, and

WHEREAS Pastor Jerome Smith Sr. works hard to provide holiday meals for 100 families at Thanksgiving and Christmas, and has the Meals on Wheels program which provides home-cooked meals to elderly individuals who are home bound; and

WHEREAS, Pastor Jerome Smith Sr. provides 100 backpacks for children as they prepare each year to go back to school, and provides coats, hats and gloves for those in need each winter through what he calls operation "Keep 'Em Warm"; and

WHEREAS, Pastor Jerome Smith Sr., through the Joseph Project, works to ensure people not only survive but thrive as since September 2015 has helped 420 people gain necessary soft skills for employment while helping more than 300 people find life sustainable employment with some of Wisconsin's top employers; and

WHEREAS, Pastor Jerome Smith Sr. will be vacating his position of State President of COGIC World Mission, and as of January 1, 2019 will be taking over as the new Urban Initiative position for Wisconsin COGIC Jurisdiction; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Pastor Jerome Smith Sr., thanks him for his contribution to his community, and extends to him its sincere wishes for continued health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Pastor Jerome Smith, Sr. in conjunction with COGIC Founders Week October 4 – 6, 2018.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Terry L. Witkowski, Mark A. Borkowski, Chantia Lewis, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 16, 2018.