BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution congratulating the Milwaukee Brewers on winning the 2018 National League Division Series title.

WHEREAS,

MILWAUKEE BREWERS

won their third National League Central Division title in franchise history and charged into the League Championship Series by sweeping the Colorado Rockies; and

WHEREAS, The Brewers played an outstanding regular season, finishing 96-67, and won a string of crucial games at the end to tie the Chicago Cubs for the National League Central Division lead, and forcing a tie-breaker game on October 1, 2018 at Wrigley Field, and the Crew came out on top to clinch the NL Central title, beating the Cubs 3-1; and

WHEREAS, The Brewers next faced off against the Colorado Rockies for the National League Division Series title, but the Rockies proved no match for the surging Brewers as the Crew blasted through the Rockies in a three-game sweep with the Rockies only scoring in one inning of the 28 played, and winning the National League Division Series title at Coors Field in a 6-0 win on October 7, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Brewers fans once again showed why they are the best in baseball as more than 2.8 million Brew Crew backers attended home games in 2018, and supported the team at each and every game (at home and away), cheering joyously and displaying good sportsmanship throughout; and

WHEREAS, The 2018 Milwaukee Brewers' 96-67 regular season record was made possible by a team – led by GM David Stearns and manager Craig Counsell – which excelled in all phases of the game, and which fought hard, played together and kept focus to continue winning while receiving no "help" from other teams down the stretch; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the Milwaukee Brewers on clinching a spot in the 2018 National League Championship Series, winning the National League Division Series title and the National League Central title, and an outstanding 2018 season, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community for giving the City of Milwaukee excitement and something to be truly proud of, and wishes the very best to the entire team and organization in the future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the 2018 National League Division Series Champion Milwaukee Brewers.

Introduced and approved on October 16, 2018 by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council: Michael J. Murphy, Ashanti Hamilton, Cavalier Johnson, Robert J. Bauman, Nik Kovac, Milele A. Coggs, Khalif J. Rainey, Robert G. Donovan, Chantia Lewis, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Terry L. Witkowski, Tony Zielinski and Russell W. Stamper, II.