BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution congratulating Warren Kirkendoll on the honor bestowed to him by the Milwaukee Brewers Baseball Club on the occasion of its 13th annual Negro Leagues Tribute event on August 3, 2018.

WHEREAS,

WARREN KIRKENDOLL

was honored during the 13th annual Negro Leagues Tribute event on August 3, 2018 at Miller Park during the Brewers – Rockies game, on a day devoted to honoring the great players of the Negro Leagues; and

WHEREAS, Warren Kirkendoll, originally from Gurdon, Arkansas, played for his hometown team, the Gurdon Panthers which was sponsored by the local lumber yard; and

WHEREAS, Warren Kirkendoll pitched in the Arkansas-Louisiana-Texas League, a barnstorming circuit, an off-shoot of the Negro Southern Leagues I, from 1949 to 1952, and he was known to have one for the best fastballs in the Negro Leagues; and

WHEREAS, The Brewers have honored dozens of Negro League players to date and the annual event includes an auction of game-worn Milwaukee Bears uniforms worn by Brewers players and coaches and the proceeds from the auction go to the Brewers Community Foundation to benefit the Yesterday's Negro League Baseball Players Foundation and the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum in Kansas City; and

WHEREAS, For his invaluable contributions to baseball, Warren Kirkendoll will be inducted into Yesterday's Negro League Hall of Fame, located at Mother Kathryn Daniels Conference Center in Milwaukee; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Warren Kirkendoll on the honor bestowed to him by the Milwaukee Brewers Baseball Club on the occasion of its 13th annual Negro Leagues Tribute event, thanks him on behalf of the community for his many contributions to baseball and wishes him continued health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Warren Kirkendoll.

Introduced and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 5, 2018: Russell W. Stamper, II, Ashanti Hamilton, Nik Kovac, Robert J. Bauman, Milele A. Coggs, Robert G. Donovan, Michael J. Murphy, José G. Pérez, Terry L. Witkowski, Mark A. Borkowski, Tony Zielinski, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Chantia Lewis.