BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution congratulating Ghassan Korban on his retirement from the Department of Public Works.

WHEREAS,

GHASSAN KORBAN

retired with pride and satisfaction as commissioner of the Department of Public Works on August 24, 2018 after more than 31 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Ghassan Korban began his career in city service in 1987 as a Civil Engineer I in the Department of Public works and was steadily promoted through the ranks, as a Civil Engineer II, as a Civil Engineer II and III, as a senior manager in Civil Engineering, as a Civil Engineer V, as a Public Works Coordination Manager, and finally to Commissioner of the Department of Public Works in 2011; and

WHEREAS, During his many years of distinguished service, Ghassan Korban made a remarkable impact on the City of Milwaukee and his proudest achievements include the execution of The Hop streetcar project, implementation of the High Impact Paving Program and advancement of the Green Infrastructure initiative as well as enhancing the Milwaukee RiverWalk and playing a key role in the historic Milwaukee-Waukesha Water Deal; and

WHEREAS, During Ghassan Korban's tenure as Commissioner, DPW won several awards and accolades from various agencies and organizations — public, private, non-profit - for initiatives, projects, and programs championed by Commissioner Ghassan, including the Public Policy Forum's 2018 Salute to Local Government Award for Intergovernmental Cooperation (Milwaukee-Waukesha water deal)and the Downtown Partner Award in 2017 from Milwaukee Downtown BID #21 for support for Bid #21 and its property owners in beautification initiatives that spur economic growth and development; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Ghassan Korban on his retirement from the Department of Public Works, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for him a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Ghassan Korban, an honorable employee.

Introduced and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 5, 2018: Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Robert J. Bauman, Nik Kovac, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Robert G. Donovan, Terry L. Witkowski, Michael J. Murphy, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson and Tony Zielinski.