BY ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution expressing condolences to the friends and family of Nevada Davis.

WHEREAS,

NEVADA DAVIS

passed from this life at the age of 84 on August 8, 2018 and funeral services were held on August 18, 2018 at the Community Baptist Church of Greater Milwaukee, 2049 N. Sherman Blvd.; and

WHEREAS, Nevada Davis was born to parents Ben Newsom and Jessie Lee Haynes-Newsom on October 23, 1933 in Columbia, Mississippi; and

WHEREAS, Nevada Davis was a founding member in the creation of Community Baptist Church of Greater Milwaukee and was instrumental in finding the temporary and permanent location for the church playing an integral role in its success and led a fulfilling career with the United Way of Greater Milwaukee, the Local AFL-CIO Labor Union and a number of other boards and community groups; and

WHEREAS, Nevada Davis, remained loyal and committed to loved ones and weathered tumultuous storms with prayer, a smile and kind words, and it was said Nevada's life embodied the purest form of "LOVE," as she had a way of touching something inside the people she met that made them feel valued, appreciated, and special; and

WHEREAS, Nevada Davis was preceded in death by daughters Tanya Parker-Robinson and Yetta Marie Parker, son Kevin Davis and brothers Decator, Jessie Charles and Theodore Newsom and leaves to cherish her memory son, Tilmon Parker, Jr, son-in-law, nephew, nieces, grandchildren, great nephews, great nieces and great grandchildren whom she loved dearly and is further survived by a host of other relatives and friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the friends and family of Nevada Davis, and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this fine, upstanding woman;; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Nevada Davis.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 5, 2018.