BY ALDS. COGGS, HAMILTON, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution recognizing and thanking Ajamou Butler for his service to the City of Milwaukee as founder of Heal the Hood.

WHEREAS,

AJAMOU BUTLER

has made a lasting and positive impact on the City of Milwaukee bringing people together to create a strong sense of community and advocating for an end to violence in Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Ajamou Butler has been a leader and role model to youth and families in Milwaukee, since the conception of his organization Heal the Hood (HTH) in 2012; and

WHEREAS, Ajamou Butler graduated from Rufus King High School and has been inspired by his son, Zyon G.Butler, to heal the City of Milwaukee and create a better place for Zyon to grow up in and has focused his efforts on community growth and learning to make Milwaukee a better and safer place; and

WHEREAS, Ajamou Butler has also demonstrated excellence through his workshops, speeches, writings, and planning of local Heal the Hood events such as community block parties to further his mission of spreading love and unity throughout the city; and

WHEREAS, Ajamou Butler has a gift of connecting with people and is able to relate to the struggle of Milwaukee youth and resonate with them using the power of communication to ignite hope, healing, action, and change; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and thanks Ajamou Butler for his service and dedication to youth and families in Milwaukee, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community and the citizens of Milwaukee, and wishes him success in all of his future endeavors; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Ajamou Butler, an outstanding civic leader.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 5, 2018.