BY ALDS. JOHNSON, HAMILTION, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY

Resolution congratulating the Silver Spring Neighborhood Center on the occasion of its 60th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

SILVER SPRING NEIGHBORHOOD CENTER

celebrated its 60th anniversary on October 18, 2018 at the Johnson Controls Headquarters, 5757 N. Green Bay Ave; and

WHEREAS, The Silver Spring Neighborhood Center was established in 1958 as a "settlement house" style neighborhood center to serve the residents of the Westlawn Housing Development and the surrounding area; and

WHEREAS, Ever since the Silver Spring Neighborhood Center was founded it has actively served the community by facilitating 10 centers of Excellence Programs including, Early Childhood Development Center, Afterschool, Teen, Adult Employment and Education Programs, Youth Sports, Family Nights, UW-Milwaukee/Silver Spring Community Nursing Center, Community Connections and an Emergency Services Food Pantry; and

WHEREAS, The Silver Spring Neighborhood Center has received many awards for its contributions to the community including, the prestigious Milwaukee Awards for Neighborhood Development Innovation in 2004 and 2017, and the BMO Harris Cornerstone Award, and the Wells Fargo People's Choice Award; and

WHEREAS, The Silver Spring Neighborhood Center has helped thousands of community members improve their lives; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes the Silver Spring Neighborhood Center on the occasion of its 60th anniversary, thanks the center for its many years of service and outstanding contributions to the community and wishes it many more years of success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Silver Spring Neighborhood Center.

Introduced by Common Council members Cavalier Johnson, José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Milele A. Coggs, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis and Khalif J. Rainey and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 31, 2018.