BY ALDS. ZIELINSKI, HAMILTON, JOHNSON, KOVAC, BAUMAN, COGGS, RAINEY, DONOVAN, LEWIS, MURPHY, BORKOWSKI, PÉREZ, WITKOWSKI, STAMPER

Resolution congratulating the South Shore Farmers Market on its 20th anniversary celebration.

WHEREAS,

THE SOUTH SHORE FARMERS MARKET

celebrated its 20th anniversary on July 14, 2018, and has brought together Bay View and Milwaukee residents, who have relied on the farmers and vendors for their high quality service and hospitality for 20 years and counting; and

WHEREAS, Milwaukee is proud to have such a convenient and friendly market that celebrates the diversity of the community and the richness of the culture of Milwaukeeans and Bay View Residents and values the home grown and locally-sourced produce and products it offers, and for 20 years has remained a highly popular event at South Shore Park where various vendors have roots in Milwaukee and Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, With a breathtaking view of Lake Michigan on the horizon, the South Shore Farmers Market has been a place of gathering for people of all backgrounds to exchange goods and interact in a welcoming and charming environment that celebrates and reflects on Bay View's distinguished heritage; and

WHEREAS, The market, filled with skilled vendors and farmers, has provided the Bay View community with products beyond fresh produce such as baked goods, flowers, soups and natural soaps and oils; and

WHEREAS, During its 20 years, the South Shore Farmers Market has been wildly successful in implementing its mission to connect the Bay View community with Wisconsin farmers and vendors; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the South Shore Market on its 20th anniversary, recognizes the many economic, social and community oriented benefits it provides to Bay View and Milwaukee, and wishes the market great success in future years; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the South Shore Farmers Market.

Introduced by Common Council members Tony Zielinski, Ashanti Hamilton, Cavalier Johnson, Nik Kovac, Robert J. Bauman, Milele A. Coggs, Khalif J. Rainey, Robert G. Donovan, Chantia Lewis, Michael J. Murphy, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Terry L. Witkowski and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 31, 2018.