BY ALDS. PÉREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution recognizing Daniel Montalvo on being named the 2018 Urban Debater of the Year.

WHEREAS,

DANIEL MONTALVO

was recognized on for being named the 2018 Urban Debater of the Year by the National Urban Association for Debate Leagues on March 23, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Daniel Montalvo has been named the Urban Debater of the Year, a scholarship competition recognizing a student whose life and community have been transformed by their commitment and dedication to debate, and he qualifies for the Urban Debate National Championship in Washington, D.C. where he will deliver a speech at the annual dinner, and receive a college scholarship; and

WHEREAS, Daniel Montalvo is from Milwaukee and was a senior at Ronald Wilson Reagan College Preparatory High School upon receiving the title of 2018 Urban Debater of the Year, and he has qualified twice for the Urban Debate National Championship Tournament, and he consistently maintained an "A" average in his school's rigorous IB program; and

WHEREAS, Daniel Montalvo also finds time to work in the community, as he has organized a Youth Art Gallery for the past three years, and he has helped coach and mentor other debaters on his team; and

WHEREAS, Daniel Montalvo was one of eight finalists for the award out of more than 11,000 student debaters, and he was selected based upon his commitment and dedication to debate, academic excellence and leadership in his school, urban debate league and in the community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Daniel Montalvo for being named the 2018 Urban Debater of the Year and extends for him its sincere wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Danial Montalvo.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 31, 2018.