BY ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution recognizing Constance Clark on her contributions and service to the African American Children's Theatre.

WHEREAS,

CONSTANCE CLARK

has provided exceptional contributions and service to the African American Children's Theatre and the community, and she will be recognized for these contributions during an event on July 19, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Constance Clark founded the African American Children's Theatre in 1989 to help children of families affected by gun violence create an outlet to help them cope with their loss, and the AACT is a theatre arts training and performance program that creates positive messages and development opportunities for youth and the community; and

WHEREAS, Constance Clark helped thousands of youth participate in over 100 performances through the AACT which focused on musical theatre works by African American artists, and including adaptations of Broadway shows, the music of Motown, traditional African folk tales, original productions honoring Milwaukee Heroes, and pieces on contemporary issues and historical civil rights movements; and

WHEREAS, Constance Clark, the executive director of AACT, facilitated the company's initial performances to be located at a variety of spaces, including SDC Westside Academy, several area churches, HeartLove Place, and performing at Calvary Presbyterian Church for 13 years, and eventually residing at the Milwaukee Youth Arts Center in 2005; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith celebrates Constance Clark on her exceptional contributions and service to the African American Children's Theatre, and wishes her continued happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Constance Clark.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 31, 2018.