18. Resolution congratulating Kalia Gooseberry for co-winning Miss Juneteenth 2018. BY ALDS. COGGS, HAMILTON, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

## WHEREAS,

## **KALIA GOOSEBERRY**

Is a co-winner of Miss Juneteenth 2018; and

WHEREAS, Kalia Gooseberry is a 16-year-old high school sophomore enrolled at Hope Christian High School, and is currently employed part-time as a Youth Counselor for Northcott Neighborhood Youth Summer Camp through the City of Milwaukee's "Earn to Learn" program, and is chief operations officer of Kalia's Variety Shop, a mobile variety store promoting cultural artifacts, ethnic clothing, jewelry and domestic décor items; and

**WHEREAS,** Kalia Gooseberry still finds time for philanthropic endeavors as chief fund raising officer for "All Locked up Inside" her support group for teenagers with one or more incarcerated parent, and as co-founder of the Gooseberry Garden Foundation, a non-profit dedicated to helping serve the needs of others through volunteerism; and

**WHEREAS,** Kalia Gooseberry has utilized her gift of helping others in travels around the United States, Africa, and France serving as a peer mentor, teacher's aid and volunteer for her church, schools and community organizations; and

WHEREAS, Kalia Gooseberry ultimately plans on becoming a clinical psychologist specializing in forensic science, and study at Howard University, and become a motivational speaker to bring awareness to the correlations between mental health illness and crime, and an activist to reduce discrimination in the criminal justice system against African Americans with mental illness(es; and.

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Kalia Gooseberry as co-winner of Miss Juneteenth 2018; and wishes for her a happy, healthy and prosperous future; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Kalia Gooseberry.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 10, 2018.