BY ALDS. HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution recognizing the grand opening of Teens Grow Greens' location at the Webers Greenhouse, 4215 N. Green Bay Ave.

WHEREAS,

TEENS GROW GREENS

celebrated its official grand opening as the new owner of Webers Greenhouse, 4215 N. Green Bay Ave. with a ceremony on May 4, 2018, one day before the greenhouse is open for business; and

WHEREAS, Teens Grow Greens was founded in 2014 with aspirations to help teens "learn, grow, and go" by providing paid nine-month internships focusing on life skills and leadership, and the organization has exceeded its own expectations and guided many teens to success, inside and outside the greenhouse, while tending to the needs of a hungry community; and

WHEREAS, Teens Grow Greens has been renting space from the Webers Greenhouses, a space known for bringing communities together, since 2014, and Teens Grow Greens bought the property to expand its own efforts to educate local students; and

WHEREAS, Teens Grow Greens, with the purchase of Webers Greenhouses, can now employ graduates of the Teens Grow Greens internship program, offer an experiential learning facility for participating teens to practice agriculture and entrepreneurship skills, and serve as a community hub, holding visioning sessions with local community members, non-profits, and businesses to discuss community development; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and congratulates Teens Grow Greens on the grand opening of the new greenhouse, thanks and commends the organization for positively impacting community residents, and wishes Teens Grow Greens continued success and prosperity; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Teens Grow Greens.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 8, 2018.