BY ALDS. RAINEY, HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, JOHNSON

Resolution expressing condolences to the family, friends, and students of Corey Moore-Comer, who passed from this life on February 9, 2018.

WHEREAS,

COREY MOORE-COMER

passed from this life on February 9, 2018, and services were held for family and friends on February 17, 2018 at Greater New Birth Church, 8237 W. Silver Spring Dr.; and

- WHEREAS, Corey Moore-Comer, born on August 5, 1982, was a passionate, caring, and committed member of the Milwaukee community who significantly and positively impacted the lives of his family, neighbors, and students; and
- WHEREAS, Corey Moore-Comer served Milwaukee through his work as a GEAR UP advisor for Milwaukee Public Schools to encourage and prepare students for receiving a higher education, earning the praise, respect, and gratitude of his coworkers, family, friends, students, and community for his service to education and the City of Milwaukee; and
- WHEREAS, Corey Moore-Comer understood that relationship building and compassion are the best paths for reaching, educating, motivating, and inspiring young people and he lived out this mission each day; and
- WHEREAS, Corey Moore-Comer's work has inspired and shaped the next generation of leaders and his legacy of dedication, advocacy, and championship for young adults will live on in the accomplishments of the students he advised; and
- WHEREAS, Corey Moore-Comer leaves to cherish his memory his loving family, coworkers, and students; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the family, friends, and students of Corey Moore-Comer, recognizes his lasting impact on his neighborhood and Milwaukee's youth and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this fine, upstanding man; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Corey Moore-Comer.

Introduced by Common Council members Khalif J. Rainey, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 27, 2018.