BY ALDS. PEREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, WITKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating the Latino Chamber of Commerce of Southeastern Wisconsin on its inaugural Business Networking Event and Fundraiser for its Microloan Fund.

WHEREAS,

THE LATINO CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF SOUTHEASTERN WISCONSIN

hosted its first Business Networking Event and Fundraiser for its Microloan Fund on January 25, 2018 at Engine Company 3 at 217 W. National Ave.; and

WHEREAS, The mission of the Latino Chamber of Commerce of Southeastern Wisconsin is to foster the economic development of Wisconsin by advocating, strengthening and promoting growth and development of Latino and other minority and emerging enterprises with the goals of providing increased access to capital, business opportunities, job creation and capacity building programs; and

WHEREAS, The Latino Chamber of Commerce of Southeastern Wisconsin recognized the need for a revolving loan fund to address gap funding for Latino small enterprises serving low to moderate income entrepreneurs and launched the Business Networking Event and Fundraiser to aid local minority-owned businesses in receiving these loans, and network with business owners across the community; and

WHEREAS, The Latino Chamber of Commerce of Southeastern Wisconsin is comprised of a dedicated Board of Directors, Finance Advisory Council, Supplier Diversity Advisory Council and community members striving to advance Latino-owned enterprises in the Southeastern Wisconsin community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the Latino Chamber of Commerce of Southeastern Wisconsin on its inaugural Business Networking Event and Fundraiser for its Microloan Fund, and recognizes its positive contributions to the community and to the City of Milwaukee and wishes for it success in all future endeavors; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Latino Chamber of Commerce of Southeastern Wisconsin.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Terry L. Witkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 6, 2018.