BY ALDS. MURPHY, WITKOWSKI, DONOVAN, HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating John D. Barmore on his retirement from the Milwaukee Fire Department.

WHEREAS,

JOHN D. BARMORE

retired with pride and satisfaction as a firefighter on January 31, 2018 after more than 33 years of dedicated service to the city and the Milwaukee Fire Department; and

WHEREAS, John D. Barmore richly and justly earned the enduring praise and gratitude of his family, friends, coworkers and the community at large for his dedication and service to the City of Milwaukee and the Milwaukee Fire Department; and

WHEREAS, John D. Barmore served with distinction as chair (January 2012 to January 2018) and as a member (January 2007 to January 2018) of the City of Milwaukee Annuity and Pension Board; and

WHEREAS, The Employes' Retirement System (ERS) of the City of Milwaukee manages the System's \$5 billion pension fund, and the Annuity and Pension Board governs the ERS, and serves as trustee of the System's funds, and John Barmore's deep knowledge of pension benefits was a major plus for the thousands of participants in the system; and

WHEREAS, John D. Barmore gained and displayed expertise through his work, performed with confidence and skill during his employment, completely meeting the challenges of his responsibilities as a firefighter, emergency medical technician (EMT) and hazardous materials specialist during his lengthy term of service to the City of Milwaukee and the Milwaukee Fire Department; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates John D. Barmore on his retirement from the Milwaukee Fire Department, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community for his exemplary service, and wishes for him a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented John D. Barmore, an exemplary employee.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Terry L. Witkowski, Robert G. Donovan, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Jim Bohl, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 6, 2018.